The Department of Political Sciences is heir to the Faculty of Political Sciences, founded in 1925 as a result of the transformation of the pre-existing "School of Political Sciences". The degree courses introduced at Political Sciences have their roots in Italy, in the proposals of Angelo Messedaglia to introduce an organic plan of studies in politics and administration within the ambit of the law faculties. The project for an independent Faculty of Political Sciences only came into being in the 1920s. The first state faculty was set up in Rome, followed by others in Pavia, Padua and Perugia.

In an era of globalization and internationalization, Political Sciences sets out to train experts to operate, with a multi-disciplinary preparation, both in the national context (at various levels) and in Europe and in international organizations. The faculty's more illustrious academics include the historians Giocchino Volpe, Rodolfo De Matteri, Mario Toscano, Armando Saitta and Renzo De Felice; the public law scholars Luigi Rossi, Sergio Panunzio, Egidio Tosato, Costantino Mortati and Carlo Lavagna; international relations scholars Riccardo Monaco and Giuseppe Sperduti; philosophers of law and politics Giuseppe Capograssi and Augusto Del Noce; statisticians Corrado Gini and Raffaele D'Addario; and the economists Alberto de Stefani, Luigi Amoroso and Giuseppe Di Nardi. Our teaching staff has also acted as heads of government in two cases (Aldo Moro and Giuliano Amato), as well as supplying several ministers and members of parliament. In 2010 Political Sciences merged with Sociology and Communications Sciences to form the new entity of "Political Sciences, Sociology and Communications".


Opening hours

  • Monday to Thursday 8.00 am to 6.00 pm
  • Friday 8.00 am to 4.00 pm
  • Saturday and Sunday closed